claudeusage.dev

Verified against Anthropic documentation & official support articles · Updated

Every Claude Usage Limit, by Plan and Window

Claude usage limits vary by plan. Free has a session limit that resets every five hours. Pro, Max, and Team add weekly limits, and five-hour session capacity scales by tier, up to 20× Pro on Max 20×. Anthropic publishes these relative multipliers but not universal message or token counts. Current usage-based Enterprise is consumption-billed instead of using included limits.

Limits by plan

Verified against Anthropic documentation across Free, Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise.

Verified September 24, 2026

Claude Free

Web and mobile access

$0
5-Hour Session Window
Demand-basedDynamic session limit

Resets every 5 hours. Capacity scales with real-time server demand.

Weekly Limit
None publishedNo published weekly limit

Anthropic publishes no weekly allowance for Free.

At Limit / Continuation

Prompts pause until 5h reset

Usage Credits not available on Free

Claude Pro

Individual subscription

$20/month
5-Hour Session Window
≥5× Free (Peak)At least 5× Free session capacity

Guaranteed at least 5× Free session capacity during peak hours. Resets every 5 hours.

Weekly Limit
Size unpublishedAccount-assigned weekly schedule

Resets every 7 days on an account-assigned schedule. Anthropic documents the weekly plan limit as applying across all models.

Opus: Anthropic doesn't publish a universal Opus-only allowance. If your account shows an Opus meter, use its value in Settings › Usage.

At Limit / Continuation

Prompts pause until window resets

Optional Usage Credits at standard API rates

Claude Max 5×

Individual power tier

$100/month
5-Hour Session Window
5× Pro5× Pro session capacity

Official 5× multiplier applies to 5-hour session windows. Resets every 5 hours.

Weekly Limit
Size unpublishedAccount-assigned weekly schedule

Resets every 7 days on an account-assigned schedule. Anthropic does not state weekly limits scale by 5×.

Opus: Anthropic doesn't publish a universal Opus-only allowance. If your account shows an Opus meter, use its value in Settings › Usage.

At Limit / Continuation

Prompts pause until window resets

Optional Usage Credits at standard API rates

Claude Max 20×

Individual maximum tier

$200/month
5-Hour Session Window
20× Pro20× Pro session capacity

Official 20× multiplier applies to 5-hour session windows. Resets every 5 hours.

Weekly Limit
Size unpublishedAccount-assigned weekly schedule

Resets every 7 days on an account-assigned schedule. Anthropic does not state weekly limits scale by 20×.

Opus: Anthropic doesn't publish a universal Opus-only allowance. If your account shows an Opus meter, use its value in Settings › Usage.

At Limit / Continuation

Prompts pause until window resets

Optional Usage Credits at standard API rates

Claude Team (Standard)

Organization plan (min 2 seats)

$25/member/mo
5-Hour Session Window
1.25× Pro (Per Seat)1.25× Pro session capacity

Enforced per member, not pooled across the organization. Resets every 5 hours.

Weekly Limit
Size unpublishedAccount-assigned weekly schedule

Applies to each member separately and resets on a fixed account-assigned schedule. Anthropic doesn't publish the allowance.

Opus: Anthropic doesn't publish a universal Opus-only allowance. If your account shows an Opus meter, use its value in Settings › Usage.

At Limit / Continuation

Prompts pause until window resets

Organization Usage Credits (enabled by Owner/Primary Owner)

Claude Team (Premium)

Organization power tier (min 2 seats)

$125/member/mo
5-Hour Session Window
6.25× Pro (Per Seat)6.25× Pro session capacity

Enforced per member. Resets every 5 hours. Can mix and match with Standard seats in one org.

Weekly Limit
Size unpublishedAccount-assigned weekly schedule

Applies to each member separately and resets on a fixed account-assigned schedule. Anthropic doesn't publish the allowance.

Opus: Anthropic doesn't publish a universal Opus-only allowance. If your account shows an Opus meter, use its value in Settings › Usage.

At Limit / Continuation

Prompts pause until window resets

Organization Usage Credits (enabled by Owner/Primary Owner)

Claude Enterprise

Current usage-based tier

Custom / Consumption
5-Hour Session Window
Consumption BilledNo session-based usage limit

Seat fee covers platform access only. There is no included plan or seat-level session limit.

Weekly Limit
No included capNo weekly allowance cap

All usage is metered and billed directly on consumption at API rates, subject to admin spend controls.

Opus: No separate Opus quota ceiling; consumption billed per token directly.

At Limit / Continuation

No included-plan quota lockout

Usage can stop at configured spend limits; self-serve Enterprise also stops if its prepaid credit balance is exhausted.

What Anthropic publishes vs. what it leaves unpublished

Anthropic publishes how session capacity compares between subscription plans. Pro guarantees at least 5× Free session usage during peak hours, Max provides 5× or 20× Pro session capacity, and Team limits apply per member.

It doesn't publish universal message or token counts. Its documentation says usage varies with conversation length, file attachments, features used, model choice, and effort level. On Free plans, session capacity also changes with real-time server demand.

When Anthropic revises plan rate limits or weekly allowances, the change is recorded by date in the Claude usage changes ledger.

Frequently asked questions about Claude limits

What does a model-specific weekly meter in Settings › Usage mean?

Some accounts may show additional model-specific weekly meters in Settings › Usage. Anthropic's published Pro, Max, and Team plan rules describe the standard weekly limit as applying across all models, so treat an extra model-specific meter as specific to your account, not as an additional allowance every subscriber gets. Our page on Claude Opus 5.5 usage limits covers that model's effort levels and Claude Code quota.

Does hitting my 5-hour limit reset or change my weekly limit?

No. The five-hour session limit and weekly limit are separate controls with separate reset schedules. The usage that contributes toward your five-hour limit can also contribute toward your weekly usage, but reaching the five-hour limit does not reset, postpone, or otherwise change your scheduled weekly reset.

How do Team plan limits work across members?

Usage limits on Claude Team plans (Standard and Premium) are enforced per member, not pooled across the organization, so one member reaching their limit doesn't restrict anyone else's quota. Members can't enable Usage Credits individually in Settings › Usage; an Owner or Primary Owner must enable and configure organization credits through Organization settings.

Does Claude Code share these exact limits?

Yes, if you sign in to Claude Code with your Claude Pro, Max, or Team subscription (OAuth). Claude Code and web chats then draw from the same 5-hour session and weekly allowances. If you authenticate Claude Code with an API key (ANTHROPIC_API_KEY), commands bypass your subscription quota entirely and are metered per token at standard Anthropic API rates in the Anthropic Console. Terminal commands, token costs, and subagent burn rates are in the Claude Code usage guide.